Press Releases
State Street Announces Winners of Fifth Annual U.K. Institutional Press Awards


London, 22 November 2006 – State Street Corporation (NYSE:STT), the world’s leading provider of financial services to institutional investors, today announced the winners of the fifth annual State Street Institutional Press Awards in recognition of outstanding performance in institutional financial reporting .

Launched in 2002, the State Street Institutional Press Awards were a first of its kind in the U.K. This year the awards recognised the contribution of journalists across a wide range of categories including investments, pensions and investor services and technology. Entries were judged by an independent panel of industry professionals including Jane Fuller, former financial editor of the Financial Times; Joanne Segars of the National Association of Pension Funds; Virginia Holmes of the Universities Superannuation Scheme; Richard Saunders of the Investment Management Association; and Stacy Scapino of Mercer Investment Consulting.

The 2006 winners are as follows:

Journalist of the Year - Pensions Issues - National Newspapers

  • Kate Burgess, Investment Correspondent, Financial Times

Journalist of the Year - Pensions Issues - Trade Publications

  • Anthony Harrington, Financial Director

Journalist of the Year - Pensions Issues - Wires / Online

  • Cecilia Valente, Reporter, Thomson Investment Management News

Journalist of the Year – Investment Issues - National Newspapers

  • Philip Coggan, Capital Markets Editor, The Economist (for entries as investment editor at the Financial Times)

Journalist of the Year – Investment Issues - Trade Publications

  • Maha Khan Phillips, Freelance (for entries in Global Alternatives Magazine and Institutional Investor)

Journalist of the Year - Investment Issues - Wires

  • Jeremy Gaunt, European Investment Correspondent, Reuters

Journalist of the Year – Investor Services & Technology

  • Angelique Ruzicka, Assistant Editor, Funds Europe

Award for most Innovative Media Outlet

Award for Outstanding Contribution to Institutional Journalism

  • Barry Riley

The journalists were honoured at a luncheon in London hosted by Peter O’Neill, executive vice president and head of State Street’s Investment Servicing and Investment Research and Trading businesses in the U.K., South Africa and Middle East.

“The institutional press maintains high standards of accuracy, timeliness and relevance and by convening these awards, State Street can recognise these qualities,” said O’Neill. We are delighted to announce these recipients of our fifth annual State Street Institutional Press Awards and congratulate all the winners on their achievements. The high number of entries this year clearly reflects the growing importance and competitive nature of institutional journalism.”

State Street Corporation is the world’s leading specialist in providing institutional investors with investment servicing, investment management and investment research and trading services. With $11.3 trillion in assets under custody and $1.6 trillion in assets under management as of September 30, 2006, State Street operates in 26 countries and more than 100 geographic markets worldwide. For more information, visit State Street’s web site at
Back to Press Releases
Media Overview
Press Releases
Media Inquiries